Welcome to the official website of the Bannow Historical Society.
Affiliated to the Federation of Local History Societies.
Founded in 2005.
Dedicated to the history and the people either at home or abroad from the Bannow/Ballymitty Parish of south Co. Wexford.
The objective of the Society is to preserve and record the history of the parish.
Our goal is to generally raise awareness of the great wealth of local history in the parish, exchange ideas, and its past publications.
The Society publishes a journal every 3 years.
Bannow Historical Society is going on facebook as another medium of communication and will update as much as possible all info on upcoming events.
At present there are 87 members in the society. The cost is €10.00 annually. If you wish to join please e-mail email@example.com and a Committee member will contact you.
Bannow is an area of unique historical and scientific interest. Its history is closely linked with that of Ireland and the Anglo and Cambro Normans, in particular, had a huge impact on the area. Evidence of their settlement and cultural diversity is found all around us. The Danish and Norman surnames are still evident in the area. The wonderful fortified church on Bannow Island, the Norman keeps and townlands record their contribution to the historic and cultural landscape. The romantic tale of the lost town of Bannow, the Irish Herculaneum, and the history of Grantstown Priory are also of particular interest. Tom Boyse, the local landlord, was a leading figure in Co. Wexford up to his death in 1854; he was driven by a conviction that all human beings are made in God’s image and was passionate in his quest for civil and religious liberty. Daniel O’Connell told the Catholic Association around 1836 that it would be idle for him to attempt a eulogy to Tom Boyse of Bannow as he did not have words adequate to describe his greatness. The well-known author, Anne Maria Hall, spent her formative years at the beginning of the nineteenth century with her mother, Mrs. Fielding, at George Carr’s mansion in Graigue. She became a famous writer of novels, short stories and travel works, and was honoured by Queen Victoria. Fr. Phillp Doyle from Maudlintown was a teacher, dramatist, historian and poet – his poem regarding the three crosses of Carrig is still widely quoted. The Rev. William Hickey was rector at Bannow from 1820-27 and, during that time, established an important school for the study of agriculture on a wet farm of about 40 acres donated by Sam Boyse. These are only some of the interesting features associated with the district. It is my hope that visitors to the Bannow area will continue to explore our wonderful heritage as Bannow Historical Society continues to document, investigate and protect our culture and traditions. With best wishes Anne Farrell Chairperson